All you Need to Know About the GED Test

The GED (General Education Development) tests are designed to measure a person’s knowledge on 4 core subjects and the tests are globally accepted as the equivalent of a high school diploma. This is ideal for those students who, for one reason or another, did not obtain a high school diploma and the test covers four key areas.

The key areas of the GED test

The four key areas of the GED tests are as follows:

  • Science
  • Mathematics
  • Social studies
  • English language

Because the GED is accepted by overseas universities (called มหาลัยต่างประเทศ ที่รับ GED in Thai), a student can enrol in a foreign university course if they pass the GED tests.

GED testing centres

GED testing is carried in a controlled environment and there are more than 4,000 GED testing centres around the world, including Thailand. The GED test was introduced in 1942, when the US military requested general education testing so that US armed forces could get jobs in a civilian environment when they return after WWII.

Studying for the GED tests

There are educational institutes that are approved by GED to prepare students for the tests and students can enrol in GED preparation classes until they believe they are ready to sit the GED tests. Just because a student does not have a high school diploma, that doesn’t mean they cannot proceed with further education. The GED is the equivalent to a high school diploma and this is recognised by all foreign universities.

English language skills & IELTS

In order for a foreign student to study at a UK university, they need to have a suitable IELTS score; IELTS stands for International English Language Testing System, which was introduced in 1989. This is a requirement for non-native English-speaking students in order to study at a university where English is used.

Score bands

The IELTS is scored in bands, band 1 = non-user to band 9, which is an expert user. Most universities accept a band 7 or band 8 and this test was designed to replace a system that was inaccurate. There are four sections to the IELTS test, which are as follows:

  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Speaking
  • Listening

The total test time is 2 hours and 45 minutes, with the reading, writing and listening sections completed in a single session, while the speaking test might take place on a different day (not exceeding 7 days from the initial test date).

If you would like to learn more about the GED test, start with a Google search to find educational institutes that offer GED studying and testing.

Comments are closed.